Cath Kidston Tablecloth

I have a stall at the Chingford Festival (http://www.chingfordvillagefestival.com/) at the end of the month and one of the things I’m making in preparation is a tablecloth for the table. I’ve needed a long tablecloth to cover our dining table when we extend it, for ages and the festival was just the excuse I needed. When I was looking around for ideas I came across a lovely pattern by Cath Kidston. It has a heart motif with two birds on either side, placed at various points around the tablecloth.

I’ve used a cotton skirt that I found in a charity shop for the hearts and blue and white polka dotted cotton for the birds. I’ve also put red and white checked ribbon around the edge. For the tablecloth itself, I’ve used an old white flat sheet (also picked up from my local charity shop). I love using old sheets. They are so cheap to buy and you get lots of material. They are great if you want to try out a pattern but don’t want to waste material. I’ve used them to work out patterns for dresses that I’ve designed, in the past.

I’ll post a picture of the finished item as soon as it’s done.

Leave a Reply

