The many joys of self cover buttons

 

Those of you who follow me on Twitter (www.twitter.com/bethbutcher) will know that I have been having a lot of fun recently with self cover buttons. The idea of being able to make your own buttons from the fabric of your choice is quite appealing. You of course have to be a little sensible on your choice of fabric. I find cotton works very well although I have used t-shirt material (if you use this, make sure it doesn’t stretch too much). Anyway getting back to my button. I have made some into earring (I promise you will get a sneaky peak before I put them in my shop). I found a lovely material with little animals and a woodland scene on it. If I’m honest it felt a little bad chopping it up and cutting the various designs I wanted out of it. I did however and I’m very pleased with the result. I’ve had a few problems getting nice photos of them, so you’ll have to be patient to see them. Instead I thought I’d share with you something else that I’ve used my new buttons for.

 

 

Those of you who read my blog will know that I have quite a few friends expecting babies this Autumn/winter and I have been knitting them all little things to keep their little ones warm. This is the latest. When my friend said that she was having a girl I couldn’t resist this jacket. Yellow is one of my favourite colours, I think it works really well. When it came to the buttons, I wanted something that would lift the whole outfit. I think these self covered button look great. I had an off cut from my bags (check my folksy page to see my bags if you’re interested). I think the delicate floral pattern works really well. It seems to lift the whole out fit. I’ll have to wait a few months to see if it suits though 😉

Leave a Reply

