Another Poppy Bag

I realised the other day that I haven’t blogged for almost 2 months (where has that time gone?!). Despite not blogging, I have actually been quite busy making. Apart from continuing with my wavy blanket which is slowly growing; I’ve also been busy sewing some little bits for a few people. I wasn’t able to take a picture of everything but I do have a couple of pictures of another version of my Poppy Bag. I love flowers and Poppies (along with sunflowers and roses) are my favourite. I really enjoyed making my version of a ‘Sew Hip’ (sewing magazine which I love) spring bag but it really was a labour of love. I was asked by someone, who had seen my bag, to make a Poppy themed bag. We decided in the end that a tote would be best for making a similar, but more practical bag. I ended up making two variations. Here they are (I hope you like them as much as I do):

Bag One

A close up of the flowers on Bag One.

Bag Two.

A close up of the flowers on Bag Two.

I used brown Corduroy for the bottom of the bag and a textured fabric for the background of the Poppies (I felt that a solid colour would be too harsh). I then made the Poppies, secured them in place, then stitched the stems.

Sometime this week, I’ll do a quick tutorial on how I made the two types of Poppies. All you need is some red felt; a black button and some black embroidery thread. Watch this space!

 

ps. anyone who has read my blog before might notice that I have had a spring clean and given my blog a new look. I hope you like it.

2 thoughts on “Another Poppy Bag

Leave a Reply

