Crochet Fun

Well my lovely crafty people, I have been playing. Inspired by this blog post I decided to play with a few different crochet flower brooches to jazz up a lovely but simple dress that I found recently in a charity shop. It needed something extra and I tried it with a belt, which looked really nice but made it a bit too nice to wear everyday, yet with nothing, it felt like it lacked something. I love The Linen Cat’s designs, she has a really good eye for things. Anyway, would you like to see what I came up with?

This first flower I made out of Sirdar snuggly wool DK. I used a pattern from 100 flowers to knit and crochet.

Here it is in bright blue (also Sirdar Snuggly DK). I’ve also made one in yellow which has made it’s way to my bag already. I like these but they didn’t quite look right on my dress, so I decided to change the style of brooch:

These flowers are actually quite small. I wanted something bright that ties together (hence the white middle). I crocheted the flowers (from this book although I did change it slightly) then cut out a small piece of felt (pale pink looked best with this colour way). I then sewed the flowers in place and sewed a pin to the back:

I think it looks really sweet. Best of all it looks great on my dress (I’ll try to get a picture next time I wear it). I was going to put the pattern for the flowers on here as it is a standard 5 petal flower design but as I got it from a book, I decided that it was probably best not to. If you do want to have a go, check out this website with loads of free patterns for crochet flowers on it.

One thought on “Crochet Fun

  1. Thanks for the mention and pingback 🙂 Love the crochet flowers, especially the little ones you used for the final brooch. Must learn to crochet! Bethx

Leave a Reply

