Baby Blanket

Hello blog people. The last few weeks have been quite busy for me, as well as a new term starting, quite a few friends are expecting (I seriously have got to that point in my life). Any how, I’ve been busy crafting to make lovely things for their soon to be little ones, all before I start my crafting for Christmas, and whilst trying to knit little man some jumpers as he’s grown out of last years ones. Any of you who follow my twitter feed will have heard me twitter on about the blanket I’ve been working on over the last few days. Well, I thought I’d share it with you:

I designed this to be the perfect size for a buggy or a car seat. I found that when I had my little man, it was hard to find blankets that were the right size (they were all too big) and any blanket had to be folded over a number of times (thus making it thicker and hotter). As little man was a winter baby (born when the roads were covered in snow!), I found the buggy blanket I made, really useful, so now I try and make them for friends. I there are there already a few on this blog and over the next few months, there will be more! This time I decided to sew one (recently I have been knitting them). I think if I do it again, I will make the animals bigger. Still, I enjoyed the learning experience.

I made 12 squares out of fleece and on 6 of them, appliquéd animal designs. Here’s a close up of the elephant.

And a close up of my caterpillar. Over the next few blog posts, I’ll walk you through how I made it. I’d say that it is a beginners project really as it was really every easy but fun to make.

Leave a Reply

