Weekend Warmer Recipe – Scrummy Curry

Now before I start this, let me say that I’m not pretending to be an expert on curry, in fact I might as well be honest, I know nothing about curry, I’ve just found this works and is really nice. Part of the reason I like it is because my hubby is allergic to chilli, and I have eaten enough Korma for the moment! It has become a firm favourite in our house, so much so that we have ‘Curry Night’ most weeks. I Have cheated and used curry paste, but it saves so much time, why not?

In my last post, I mentioned how hard it is to take nice photo’s of slow cooker recipes, so here is another Autumnal picture. It’s one of my favourite places to walk the dog, although I have to keep an eye on her as there are so many squirrels at this time of year, I have lost her for 45min before!

Right back to cooking!  You can do this in a casserole dish in the oven, or in a saucepan on the hob but you’ll have to change the timings.

Ingredients:

Onion

Whatever meat you fancy (I find Chicken thighs or Lamb works really well but I often use chicken or turkey breasts).

1 tin of chopped tomatoes

1 tablespoon of Tandorri Paste (I use ‘Pataks’)

1/2 a tablespoon of Tikka Masala Paste (again, I use ‘Pataks’)

Either 1 tin of Coconut Milk or half a block of a Coconut block, made into a paste with boiling water.

1 small handful of sugar

Serves 4.

1. Fry 1 chopped onion in a pan and brown/white meat. Add to slow cooker and pour in Chopped Tomatoes.

2. Mix in the Tandorri and Tikka Masala paste and add the coconut.

3. Add sugar stir and leave to cook (for 4+ hrs on ‘Low’).

Serve with rice, popadoms or nann bread. It can also be frozen (an even easier meal for next week!).

Leave a Reply

