Beautiful Bloggers

Last month I was nominated for a beautiful blogger award by  Winter Owls, a blog that I absolutely love! Apart from her love of owls (which you all know I share), she writes a lovely posts that I enjoy reading on a variety of crafty subjects. It’s been a joy to discover her in the last year. Thank you for nominating me!

beautiful-blogger-awardI like reading these award posts as I like finding out a bit more about the blogger as well as discovering new blogs. So here’s my entry and nominees:

The Rules A Few Guidelines:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you — tick.
  2. Post the award image to your page — tick.
  3. Tell seven facts about yourself — keep reading…
  4. Nominate other bloggers for the award and let them know about the nomination.

Seven facts about me:

  • I love living in London, although when I was growing up I thought it would be the last place I would end up living (I moved here when I got married).
  • My favourite time of year is autumn because I love the different colours and the nip in the air (I even don’t mind the rain).
  • My ideal place to live would be in the middle of no where, with enough land for a couple of goats, at least one pig and alpacas. It is a dream that I very much doubt will happen and probably wouldn’t be nearly as idyllic as I imagine if it did!
  • I met my husband when I was 18 and moved to London to work as  youth worker. His parents kindly opened there home to me as I was struggling to find somewhere to live and I got to know him over a weekly Sunday Lunch (he lived at his own place). He doesn’t want to live in the middle of no where with many different animals (I don’t really blame him!).
  • I can’t decide whether my favourite craft is crocheting or sewing. I probably do a lot more crochet as it’s easier to pick up and put down and I’m really glad I plucked up the courage to learn.
  • I’m really bad at using patterns, apart from knitting and prefer to ‘wing it’. Although when it comes to baking I have to follow a recipe and not deviate from at all. I’d be terrible on ‘Great British Bake Off’.
  • Apart from a crash course from my Great Aunt when I was a child, in cross stitch, I’ve taught myself to sew, knit, bake, crochet and embroider. Still, she was my inspiration and started a life long love of most things crafty. It means that most of my crafts are a bit trial and error and I’m sure if someone who has learnt properly saw how I did things, they would be horrified. However I find crafting relaxing and I don’t really care as long as I’m happy with the end result.

In no particular order the nominees are:

Handmade by Mia who makes beautiful felted items. I love them and her blog.

Bustle and Sew who makes stunning sewing and embroidery patterns (if you follow me on Facebook or Twitter you will have seen her stuff as I post them fairly frequently!).

Busted Button who I have only discovered in the last few months but I really enjoy reading. She makes beautiful things out of buttons!

The Linen Cat who I mentioned in one of my pre-Christmas posts. I love the things she makes, she is a sewing inspiration!

Finally, Attic 24. Many of you may have heard of her before. I love her blog and her crochet. This was one of the things that finally persuaded me to knuckle down and learn to crochet. I wish I had her eye for colour!

Well I hoped you enjoyed that, just a bit of fun really. I will start posting again soon now that the holiday craziness is over and ‘normal’ life is resuming.

3 thoughts on “Beautiful Bloggers

  1. Hi Beth – thanks so much for passing this along to me, amongst others. If you’ve hopped over in my direction, you’ll know I’m taking a short blogging break, but I’ll make sure I mention the award on my return. Bxx

Leave a Reply

