New Year Resolutions etc.

Yes, yes, I know, we’re a few weeks into January now and New Year Resolutions are usually made at the beginning of the year. Well I did make these at the beginning of the year, however I’ve only just round to blogging about it!

Last year I resolved to work from my stash and not buy any wool unless I needed to complete a specific project (eg. to make a present; a commission; or knit jumpers for little man and I couldn’t do this from my stash). I’m actually pretty pleased with how I did. I only bought about 6-8 balls of wool that I didn’t  need and some of those were to knit myself a couple of hats out of chunky wool which I didn’t have. Over all, I’d say that was a success. I wanted to do it to stop my stash getting any bigger (I hoard lovely wool). I managed to make a lot of things. Here are a few of my favourites:

IMG_0688Mittens to keep my hands warm 🙂

IMG_0579A Granny Square a day for a month (although I haven’t finished it yet).

IMG_0389My crochet daisies.

img_0147A crochet phone case.

IMG_0432And finally, my sofa blanket (I had a lot of wool in my stash!).

Hmm I’ve just realised that my favourite projects have all been crochet. I promise you I have been doing other things too, like sewing bags and dinosaur capes:

img_7956Poppy Bag (with poppy tutorial).

IMG_0725My gingerbread men.

IMG_0859I still love my dinosaur cape!

Ok well now for this years resolutions. I’m going to try to finish my Granny Square a Day blanket that I started and was one week away from completely when I was hit by awful morning sickness, had to stop and then couldn’t look at it again without feeling awful again (weirdly I can’t see anything to do with the Olympics for the same reason!). Anyway, I want to finish it in time for little miss and as I’m mostly feeling better now, I feel the time is right!

Secondly I am going to stop buying patterns and make things from the ones that I already have. I have a lot as I’m like a magpie when it comes to sewing, crochet and sewing patterns but this means that I have a lot of wonderful patterns waiting to be made. We’ll see how I do with this one, I think I’m going to find it quite hard!

I’d love to hear what your new year resolutions are and whether you have had much success in keeping them so far!

One thought on “New Year Resolutions etc.

Leave a Reply

