Waving goodbye to Summer

Now don’t get me wrong I will miss the long lazy days we’ve enjoyed this summer. It has been a real treat to be able to spontaneously pack up a picnic, go to the park and enjoy the sunshine; or put our shoes on and go for a relaxed ramble in the woods. But there is a part of me (a rather large part, I have to confess) that is looking forward to Autumn coming. Of course I won’t miss the stress of wrestling sun cream and hats on two little people; or trying to cool a house down, that to be honest is designed to keep the heat in; not to mention the little ones who cope with the heat about as well as I do and wake up numerous times during the night (usually at different times!) . I love Autumn. It’s always a little sad when the long Summer evenings give way to cooler, darker ones but for me there is that excitement that is welcomed in on the cool breeze. The promise of sights and sounds, colours and smells that come with Autumn.

IMG_1684I went for a walk the other day in a park that I haven’t been to for over a year. I used to go there every day but for some reason I had stopped (I had been told that you couldn’t walk a dog off the lead there as it may worry some of the children that sometimes go there; but have found out since, that isn’t the case). Well I went back and remembered why I loved it so much. Here you can see the trees are just starting to turn.

IMG_1687The river is actually almost clear but because it doesn’t move very fast, all the leaves fall into it and give it that brown colour. Still, I think it’s pretty.

IMG_1689You can see Little Man enjoying himself ‘exploring’, apparently.

IMG_1699The dog loves it too. Here she is deciding whether or not to jump in and chase a duck. I didn’t want her to jump in because she can’t get out. Thankfully this time she didn’t.

IMG_1702Finally, I had to take a picture of this because I have never seen such a big fish in the river before and I wanted to make sure I wasn’t imagining it! I’ve seen smaller, darker fish before but not one as big or as bright as this (it was about as long as the distance between the tip of my finger to half way up my arm).  I know it’s not huge, I think I was more surprised to see it in this river!

One thought on “Waving goodbye to Summer

Leave a Reply

