The tale of two scarves and a snood (patterns)

This week I thought I’d share with you my super easy scarf and snood patterns. As you probably know by now, I spin and sell my own yarn. I want people who buy my yarn to be able to make something beautiful from it. So, I have written 3 very easy patterns that can be knitted from 2 skeins (100g) of my yarn. They are all a variation of the same pattern and can be easily adapted for whatever yarn you are using.

IMG_20151006_134752693_HDR

Adult Scarf: You will need 100g of DK yarn

(this works best with yarn that has different colours in it rather than just one block colour)

10mm knitting needles

(usually when knitting DK you use 4mm knitting needles, this pattern creates large stitches that keep the scarf light, soft and if you are using 100% wool, really warm!)

Pattern: Cast on 25 stitches.

Row 1: knit 25 stitches (in other words, knit the row)

Every further Row: Repeat Row 1

Carry on knitting until the scarf is the length you desire then cast off.

That’s it. See, easy. This is called a garter stitch and looks really effective on large needles.

IMG_20151007_100358640

Toddler/Child scarf: You will need 50-100g of DK yarn

(this works best with yarn that has different colours in it rather than just one block colour)

8mm Knitting needles

Pattern: Cast on 15 stitches.

Row 1: knit 25 stitches (in other words, knit the row)

Every further Row: Repeat Row 1

When the scarf is the length you want it cast off.

Now I like to add a small bit on the back so the the scarf can be held in place without having to tie it around little ones neck.

IMG_20151007_100311769

If you want to add one too, cast on 6 stitches. Work about 15-20 rows in garter stitch (each row is ‘knit’ all stitches). Position it towards the bottom of the scarf and sew in place. I’ve lifted it up in the picture so you can see it but I actually sewed it in place, flat.

IMG_20151006_212339

The Snood Pattern:

I love this one especially as I made it from yarn I spun from 50% super soft Alpaca and 50% Angora Rabbit (don’t worry, both were sourced from responsible pet owners!). I cannot tell you how soft and warm it is! Now you don’t need to make it from this gorgeous wool; this pattern would actually work in either a single block colour or a multi colour yarn.

You will need:

100g of DK yarn

10mm knitting needles

Pattern:

Cast on 25 stitches.

Row 1: knit 25 stitches

Every further Row: Repeat Row 1

Repeat Row 1 until the snood is at least 120cm long. Cast off. Take the two ends and sew them together. Now you have your lovely new snood.

One thought on “The tale of two scarves and a snood (patterns)

Leave a Reply

